Sake brewery

Kamotsuru Shuzo Brewery

Kamotsuru Shuzo Brewery

The brand name “Kamotsuru” was given in 1873, by Wahei Kimura, one of the three patrons of sake brewed in Saijo. The brewer was incorporated in 1918.

While general sake breweries have one smokestack, the Japanese-style whitewashed Kamotsuru brewery is equipped with four smokestacks, which gives an idea how large the brewing facility is. A European-style building also stands on the spacious premises of the brewery.

The characteristic feature of the brewery is not limited to the scale alone; as part of its continued devotion to the brewing of high quality Kamotsuru sake products, it has also focused on in-house rice milling and in-house brewing.

To brew high-quality sake, it is essential to use high quality water and employ an advanced rice-milling technique. Therefore, to produce sake that cannot be achieved by conventional rice milling methods using waterwheels and millstones, the brewery purchased Japan’s first power-driven rice milling machine, made by the Satake Machinery Factory (now Satake Corporation) in 1898. As a result of the employment of an advanced rice milling technique, the brewery succeeded in milling rice to 75%, which was an exceptional ratio in those days. Then, in 1958, the brewery launched a top quality daiginjo-shu sake product that had not been produced by any other competitors, contributing to the establishment of ginjo-shu and daiginjo-shu brewing techniques.

The quality of Kamotsuru sake is highly praised, having won the Gold Medal at the Annual Japan Sake Awards for 18 consecutive years, from 1970.

As a recent high profile event, the U.S. President Barack Obama enjoyed Kamotsuru sake at a meal with Japan’s Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in April 2014. Japan’s leading sake brewer’s Kamotsuru ginjo-shu products are enjoyed by many sake lovers and in various settings across the world.

Photos of breweries


  • Chimney

  • Building appearance

  • Building appearance

  • Building appearance

  • Shop

  • Shop

List of
sake breweries

Sake brewery

Foundation
1918
Address
4-31 Saijouhonmachi Higashihiroshima-shi Hiroshima-ken 739-0011 japan
Contact
TEL 082-422-2121
FAX 082-422-2300
  • Characteristics of Japanese sake
  • Hiroshima Sake
  • History of Hiroshima Sake
  • Sake Friendly Recipes
  • About Hiroshima
  • Basic of Japanese sake

酒蔵紹介

Brasserie Kamotsuru

Présentation de la brasserie

En 1873, Wahei KIMURA, l’un des trois bienfaiteurs de Saijo, a nommé ce saké Kamotsuru. En 1918, la brasserie est devenue une société.

Les brasseries possèdent généralement une seule cheminée, mais Kamotsuru en possède quatre, ce qui donne une idée de l’ampleur de cette brasserie. Les bâtiments en eux-mêmes sont magnifiques, et à l’intérieur de l’enceinte on peut y découvrir des bâtiments de style japonais et de style occidental aux murs blancs.

Malgré sa taille, Kamotsuru veille à garder une attitude sincère et à tout produire localement.

Pour élaborer un saké de grande qualité, ce n’est pas seulement la qualité de l’eau, mais aussi les techniques de polissage du riz qui sont essentielles. Pour s’affranchir de la limitation d’un polissage effectué à l’aide d’une meule mue par un moulin à eau, la société Satake a mis au point en 1898 la première machine à polir le riz du Japon. Grâce à cette avancée technologique, le taux de polissage est passé à 75%, une première pour l’époque. En 1958, ils commercialisent le Daiginjo, qu’aucune brasserie n’avait encore réussi à réaliser, consolidant par la même occasion suprématie technique dans l’élaboration des sakés de type Ginjo et Daiginjo.

En 1970, et pendant 18 années consécutives, ce saké à la qualité tout particulièrement estimée a remporté la médaille d’or au Concours national des nouveaux sakés.

En avril 2014, lorsque Shinzo Abe, le Premier ministre japonais a rencontré le Président Obama, c’est du saké Kamotsuru qui leur a été offert. Cet événement encore dans toutes les mémoires a rendu les sakés de la brasserie Kamotsuru, ce grand nom des brasseries de saké, encore plus populaire.

Photos


  • Cheminée

  • Vue extérieure du bâtiment

  • Vue extérieure du bâtiment

  • Vue extérieure du bâtiment

  • Magasin

  • Magasin

Liste des brasseries

Informations sur les brasseries

Fondation
1918
Adresse
4-31 Saijouhonmachi Higashihiroshima-shi Hiroshima-ken 739-0011 Japon
Tenseignements
+81-82-422-2121